Album Review: RATT – Infestation

March 28, 2010
By

Ratt - InfestationTitle: Infestation
Artist: RATT
Label: Roadrunner
Release Date: 20 April 2010
In One Word: Redundant

Did you read my WASP review last year? You may stop reading as I’ll be reiterating some of those points made previously. While it’s nowhere near as bad as Babylon it still has that incredible cheese factor that is hair metal and all the past glory included.

Why it’s made a resurgence I don’t know because it was never cool, it’s not musically interesting nor is it funny (unless you count that Rollins bootleg I smell a Ratt). The only band in recent history who could do something good with hair metal was Turbonegro and then again the last record, Retox wasn’t too hot.

The production is like Guns ‘n Roses’ Chinese Democracy with way too much vocal effects and a grandious use of echo and phasers.

The songs on Infestation are just horrible and redundant without a single stand-out track and will only cater for the small audience who were there at the start or the bullshit kids down at Ding Dong, Melbourne who think it’s the 80’s.

© Danny Crombie, Music Vice

Tags:

23 Responses to Album Review: RATT – Infestation

  1. David G. on March 28, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    What kind of review is this except one of pure personal distaste for Pop Metal Bands?? You mention No Songs, Nothing about The Musicianship or Vocals ~ just pure opinion & that will cause many to feel you have not even heard Infestation at all.

    So that’s my take, I have no problem with your personal taste in music but, the way its worded is simply NOT a review.

    Thanks for letting me leave this.

  2. Danny Crombie on March 28, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    That’s the thing, it is opinion and I can’t find anything nice to say about the songs – they’re not even catchy (if it’s a good song from any genre i’ll mention it).

    I listened to the whole goddamn thing from start to finish, read the looooooong bio and just managed to fire out as many words as I could find.

    If you would like to review the album, I’m sure our editor would definately publish it because this website is an open forum for people who love music, i could just find nothing to love about this.

  3. Brendon on March 29, 2010 at 6:52 am

    If it’s an opinion, then the title of the page should read something like : Album Opinion: Ratt – Infestation

    what a waste of time this page is!

  4. Mike on March 29, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    RATT rocks! They should be in the RnR hall of fame. You probably like the bands that are inducted in it…lol!

  5. Nic on March 29, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    What’s the problem? He concisely gave the band and their new record the brush-off. Why waste everyones time talking negative about a record which he states he didn’t like a single song off of by a band who should have retired many, many years ago.

  6. Fred on March 29, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    So whats cool? Mr.Cool? Hahaha! You sound like a scenster Danny!!

  7. Lou on March 30, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Haha, nice “review”. Sounds like you don’t even like Ratt’s original material. Sooooo, why waste your time listening to the WHOLE album, reading their “looooooong” bio,then writing your “review”? Then subsequently wasting everyone else’s time with reading your “review”? You must have better things to do with your time as i know i have, and now since realizing i wasted 3 minutes writing this post i regret writing this post already, but i will post anyway.

  8. John on March 31, 2010 at 10:16 am

    No kidding hair metal is cheesy. This review doesn’t cover any of the MUSIC being played. Does it rock? Production? Musicianship? Next time keep the computer turned off Dan. You’re bad at this.

  9. Dave73 on April 3, 2010 at 4:16 am

    what a tool, how can you review hair metal sleaze rock bank if you dont like the music, it would be like me reviewing fucking Britney, the new Ratt album is full of bombastic hit and is great from start to end, an i would say probalby theur best effort all round, aslo FYI Babylon was also a great album not awesome but great, stick to what you know!!!!!!!

  10. Glenn Odin on April 3, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Funnily enough every Ratt fan I know who’s heard the new cd considers it a great return to form. If you don’t think songs like “Take A Big Bite” or “Best Of Me” are catchy you’d have to be deaf! Then again if you consider Turbonegro to be decent you probably are…at least the “bullshit kids” at the Ding Dong have some taste and don’t just jump on the latest bandwagon bands.

  11. Michael Bowser on April 4, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Damn, Dan! Them hair metal fans are one feisty lot, eh?!

  12. Tone71 on April 7, 2010 at 12:36 am

    I get a feeling that when RATT was popular in the 80’s, this guy was worshiping R.E.M.

  13. FukGrunge on April 8, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    All you glam and 80s hard rock haters can go screw yourselves cuz
    this coming decade will be 80s all over again.

    And it will be the end of all this boring whiney alternative shit we’ve had to endure for the past two fuking decades. ‘Real’ rock will be resurrected.

    I sincerely hope all of you miserable losers and your fuking bands die a gruesome death collectively as a mirror image of what happened to hard rock in the early 90s.

    Personally, I take one terrible ‘hair’ metal tune over every single thing pearl jam and their ilk have done.

  14. jeff haynes on April 16, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    thanks for the total bs review…..
    i guess your dissappointed because the boss or u2 dont have anything new…..
    we dont need people like you anyhow…..
    metal fans are fine by themselves….
    what a total ass….

  15. Greg on April 17, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Too bad this is about the only negative review ( if you want to call it that) about RATT’s new album, which by the way kicks Ass!! Some people hate the fact that 20 plus years later 80’s rock still has a large following, the bands still play to sell out crowds, & are still very much capable of making great new music that flat out rocks..Sorry Dan that your so clueless when it comes to one of Rock N Rolls greatest era’s!!!

  16. Alex on April 20, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Danny doesn’t own a car nor has he been to a party.

    I know this because that’s where this music should be played!

    Now go and ‘review’ something that feels safe to you like Lady Ga Ga.

  17. Brian on April 21, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    I have read your review and your are entitled to your viewpoints however I was once on those 80’s kids. Now in those days music was about fun not like today’s music where you have hip hop that glorifies gangster lifestyle or pop music with so much cheese that kraft would be happy and lastly rock music that has singers screaming and guitar players that think they can play.
    The reason 80’s metal is back is people just want to have fun that is all and this RATT album is about that fun; it’s rock and roll.
    One more thing why is it these bands still can draw large crowds and are getting new fans umm.

  18. Antsa on April 23, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Amazing album! Catchy, powerful, energetic. This is what’s well composed rock ‘n roll is all about. Ratt is back! One can only wonder what Crombie had taken when reviewing this. And production like Chinese Democracy? Really, dude…

  19. Alana on April 29, 2010 at 8:27 am

    I agree with everyone except for Danny – Danny is Redundant! a Massive 😛 Wank! Ratt are Awesome. Keep up the good work guys and i cant wait to see you return to OZ!

  20. Don on April 29, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Worst attempt at a review I have ever seen. It is obvious to me that this Danny idiot did not listen to Infestation.

    I picked this up a couple of days ago and I’m addicted. Vocals are very strong…best from Pearcy in 20+ years. The guitar(s) are very tight and production is excellent.

    I truely was not expecting this release to be anything like it is. Many bands have tried to capture past glory and most have only disappointed. NO disappointment in this case!

    I like most types of music as long as it is well done so I am not saying to go get this CD as a “80’s metal fan”. I’m saying go get this if you are a MUSIC fan, you will not regret it.

  21. Michael Bowser on May 14, 2010 at 5:06 am

    What is this pre-occupation people have with a reviewer having to “like” or be overly familiar with a genre in order to write about it? An opinion is still an opinion, and just as valid for all that!! I’m sure this review won’t stop a single Ratt fan from buying the album, but does the reviewer care? He’s just offering up an OPINION, boys and girls…in the world of music, and ART in general for that matter, there is no “right” or “wrong”. Just different tastes.

    Now if we all just hold hands and sing – oh, we have a problem, right there. Okay, if we can all just decide on which SONG to sing together first, then perhaps we can achieve world peace. Won’t it be wonderful to live in a world where everyone AGREES ON EVERYTHING and is EXACTLY THE SAME?!? Bring on the Morlocks, I say…

  22. TonyAFC on May 16, 2010 at 11:49 am

    RATT kick ass!!

  23. Justin on March 18, 2011 at 1:22 am

    I’d call the reviewer a hipster twat…except a hipster twat would probably pretend to like this…mixed with “ironic” humour of course..so this reviewer is probably just your common or garden variety chattering class twat …the kind who thinks Ian Curtis & Morrisey are gods ,Kings of Leon are awesome , Mastodon “redefined Metal”, has a fashionably scruffy beard, dresses like an unemployed librarian & reads and enjoys “things bogans like” I suspect…of course I could be wrong on all those points, but not the broader conclusion…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *