Iggy and the Stooges at Dundas Square, Toronto – Concert review and photos

June 20, 2010
By

Iggy and the Stooges at Dundas Square, Toronto, NXNE, 19 June 2010 - photo by Brian Banks, Music Vice, all rights reserved

The Gig: Iggy and the Stooges – NXNE 2010 headliners
Where: Dundas Square, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
When: 19 June 2010
In One Word: Legendary

On Saturday night Iggy and the Stooges, headliners of NXNE 2010, took to the stage at Dundas Square in Toronto. This free show attracted thousands of people, with Yonge Street closed off to accommodate the massive turnout. (Apparently this was the first time Yonge Street’s ever been closed.)

I can’t recall a concert being so hotly anticipated – bar perhaps my previous encounter with the Stooges. I mean, it’s the Stooges: if you live in Toronto and have any kind of interest in music then there were no excuses for not being here.

The night was hot and humid but the threat of rain and thunder never transpired. Thousands of Torontonians got hot and sweaty together while the ever-shirtless Iggy Pop doused himself on stage with water bottles.

The Stooges were always going to deliver. Their stage manager is an intimidating, no-nonsense kind of guy, and it was amusing to watch as he shouted at the sound guy and other stage hands during set-up: “There’s no sound in this monitor. What?!… Come here and listen for yourself then!” There was no doubt who was calling the shots and running this show – that Napoleon type figure makes sure everything is in order for Iggy Pop.

Dundas Square erupted when Iggy made his appearance. The audience became a human tidal wave, as everyone crashed and rolled and within moments I’d moved five rows forward. For the next hour and a half the people hanging off your pockets became your friends.

The Stooges played through material from all three of their albums. Every moment was soaked up with a jaw-dropping, transfixed gaze – “Is this really happening? Iggy Pop. Wow.” Gobsmacked.

Early on in the set, Iggy invited some of the crowd to jump the barrier and join him on stage – those people will have an extra special memory from tonight, but everyone will have their own story.

My own story is that I was denied access to the photo pit for this show – that was frustrating but I was determined to get some shots of one of rock music’s true icons, and one of my ultimate favourite bands ever. Concerts and moments like this are the reason why I moved here from my wee rural village area of Scotland. I’m not here for a vacation: I’m here to try and make a career around this rock n’ roll thing that I’m addicted too, so you bet I was on a mission. As a photographer, I had to document this, and other factors like potential damage to my camera (already held together in places with electrical tape) did not cross my mind…

Look out honey, ’cause I’m using technology
Ain’t got time to make no apology
Soul radiation in the dead of night
Love in the middle of a fire fight

Legendary night. An “I was there” concert if ever I saw one.

© Brian Banks, Editor, Music Vice

Iggy and the Stooges at Dundas Square, Toronto, NXNE, 19 June 2010 - photo by Brian Banks, Music Vice, all rights reserved

Pictures of Iggy and the Stooges:

Brian Banks

Editor and Founder, Music Vice Magazine. Writer. Photographer. Poet. From Scotland. Not Ireland. Proudly based in Toronto, Canada. Rock N' Roll Don't Pay The Rent... 

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterYouTube

Tags: , ,

21 Responses to Iggy and the Stooges at Dundas Square, Toronto – Concert review and photos

  1. sharkguy on June 20, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Absolutely phenomenal…incredible buzz-saw guitar work. Damn.

  2. Steve J on June 20, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Great photos Brian.

  3. Janet Chernin on June 20, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Thank you for taking such extraordinary photos – risking life,limb and camera to get up up close and personal … how I wish The Stooges would come to the East Coast! The lead photo is gobsmacking!

  4. Jill on June 20, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    So sorry I missed this one! Great review. Yonge St is closed all the time though. Check out Pride in a few weeks, they close it for the parade. Come to think of it they close it for a lot of different parades.

  5. Don on June 20, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Thanks for the wicked write-up. You completely captured the “rock your balls off” vibe felt by all! What a memorable show!

  6. Janine on June 20, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Brian, your photos are sensational!! The stage invasion shots are so powerful. What a talent! I hope the festival organizers see the work that you’ve done. You have an incredible skill for capturing the artist.

    Best of luck with your career here. You should show your work to the major outlets.

  7. H. Harris on June 21, 2010 at 10:48 am

    please e-mail me privately. i’m curious about one aspect of your terrific photos. ( you can check my website for my credentials. )

  8. CBGB on June 21, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Iggy and the Stooges at Dundas Square!

    What, the liberal party held a caucus meeting at Dundas square?

    Ohhhh, you mean that Iggy. I thouht he was dead. I guess old rockers never really die, they just play less profitable venues.

  9. Wolf Sullivan on June 21, 2010 at 11:02 am

    It was my birthday and I missed Iggy! I’ve wanted to see him since I watched his “Kiss my Blood” video at the Paris Olympia. However, I never liked the Stooges, and Whitey Kirst on guitar in Paris was fantastic and Iggy was 20 years younger. He actually sang naked for 2 songs and we get to see his endowment, I mean his cock.

    Iggy invented stage diving and crowd walking. He’s the best front man in show biz history, and I missed the motherfucker!

    Yonge Street gets closed fairly often, as someone already mentioned.

  10. Dave on June 21, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    “The Stooges played through material from all three of their albums.”

    Um, there are 4 albums. Do some basic fact checking.

  11. glenn leslie on June 21, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    yea …my old pal jimmy started punk…. as we know it thats for sure !!!!!!glenn leslie

  12. Brian Banks on June 21, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Thank you for the kind comments about my photographs.

    Regarding the closure of Yonge Street, I mentioned it in parenthesis because someone from the stage made a statement about it being closed. It didn’t seem likely that it was the first time it had been shut off. Thanks for confirming that.

    And in response to Dave: you’re right, technically there are four studio albums from the Stooges. However, I don’t think about 2007’s The Weirdness when talking about the band. The key (but silent) word missing from that sentence is ‘original’. The original three Stooges albums are the ones that matter.

  13. Magpie on June 21, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    It would have been nice if at least one of those massive screens at Dundas Sq. had the show on them for the people in the back.

  14. Lance McVickar on June 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Great shots!! I saw the stooges two years ago in NYC at The Terminal.
    They were great and it was one of Ron Ashton’s last shows god rest his soul. I have seen Iggy five times but this was my first stooges show and it was without a doubt the absolute best show and perhaps the best show I have ever seen, and I have seen a lot. Wake up youngster musicians and smell the Pop. He has set a very high bar indeed and I have yet to see a young band rock out like these legends in a very long time.

  15. Danny on June 23, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Dave and Brian, I think you’ll find that The Stooges only had three albums being The Stooges, Fun House and The Weirdness where Ron Asheton played guitar.

    Anything else was released as Iggy and the Stooges or later on with Kill City etc as Iggy Pop and James Williamson but still fine records with a much more violent sound.

  16. Michael Bowser on June 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Nice bloody pics, Brian! Love the one with the bottle on his head in particular, he looks like an old, pot-bellied gorilla! Good to see that a borderline geriatric like Iggy can still put on a better show than most of these spotty youngsters that pass for “rock stars” these days..!!

  17. Michael Bowser on June 23, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    PS I also like the “crazy woman” screaming at him in the pic with the mike lead in his mouth. She looks like she escaped from a Charles Manson documentary!!

  18. J on June 25, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Nice pictures! Check out this video we made of Raw Power: http://vimeo.com/12838674

  19. Rob J on July 3, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    I have seen The Stooges twice in London in 2005 and 2010.
    Nobody before or since has rocked the joint harder than Ig and Co.

    Take it from me, see them whilst you still can. James Williamson can wipe the floor with any of today’sguitar “heroes” you care to name.

    Btw the photos are great. Truly raw power can’t be beat……

  20. Becky on July 12, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Incredible photos, great job Brian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *